Connexion

Your Partner in the world of Business

Your Partner in the world of Business

Your Partner in the world of Business

Direct Foreign Investment (DFI)

Measures on FDI in accordance with the new law of 3 August 2016 on the promotion of investment

Adopted by the two parliamentary chambers of the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, the new Investment Code has been validated unanimously and updated the provisions of the Ordinance of August 2001 codifying the regulations governing the Investments in Algeria.

Repeal of Ordinance N° 01-03

The legal framework applicable to investments consists, henceforth, of Law 16-09 repealing the provisions of Ordinance No. 01-03 on the development of investments and the Law of Finance for 2016 "LF 2016".

However, the Finance Law 2016 governs certain provisions of the Code governing investments. There are three key arrangements, including:

Article 66 of the FL 2016: Extirpated from the Investment Code, this article governs the "49/51" rule and the compliance obligation imposed on companies’ majority owned by foreign investors;

Article 55 of the FL 2016: This Article governs the obligation to use local financing of investments;

Article 62 of the FL 2016: This article now governs privatization by opening the share capital of public economic enterprises.

It should be noted that certain provisions of Ordinance No. 01-03 were simply repealed, without being included in Law 16-09 or in the IF 2016, such as:

  1. The obligation for foreign investment to generate a foreign currency surplus in favor of Algeria throughout the duration of the project and ;
  2. The obligation to provide annual information on the shareholding of foreign legal entities holding shares in Algerian companies.

Main measures relating to foreign investments​

Law 16-09 clarifies and/or modifies certain provisions of the former legislation, namely:

  • The change in the guarantee for transfer of invested capital and the resulting income: its profit is now subordinated to a capital contribution in cash equal to or above minimum thresholds defined according to the overall cost of the project, the modalities of which will be fixed by regulatory framework. Capital reinvestment of transferable profits and dividends is allowed as external contributions qualifying for the transfer guarantee and contributions in kind are eligible for the transfer guarantee under certain conditions;
  • Maintaining the State’s pre-emptive right: Article 30 of Law 16-09 reminds the principle that all transfers of shares made by/or to foreign investors are subject to the State’s pre-emptive right. Law 16-09 refers to statutory instruments for the application. The former Article 4d of Ordinance No. 01-03, which lays down minimum conditions for the application of this right, is repealed, the State’s pre-emptive right seems difficult applicable as it is unless to remain refering to the previous practice ;
  • Details of the State’s repurchase rights: Any sale of assets of 10% or more of the shares of a foreign company holding a stake in an Algerian company that has benefited from advantages or facilities at the time of its establishment, gives rise to Information from the State Participation Council ("CPE"). Failure to comply with this formality or the reasoned objection of the CPE, within one month from the receipt of the information, confers on the State a right of repurchase to the maximum of the shareholding held by Foreign Company ceded in Algerian society. In the absence of any clarification as to its application, the State's right of redemption should not be able to be applied as it stands unless it refers to the previous practice;
  • The jurisdiction of the Algerian courts in the case of disputes between foreign investors and the Algerian State, unless bilateral or multilateral agreements or agreements providing for an arbitration clause exist (Ordinance no. 01-03 referred to competent jurisdictions).

Recast of incentive measures of investments​

After slightly modifying the definition of investment, Law 16-09 provides for a one-time registration of investments with ANDI in order to benefit from the advantages provided by this law.

  • ​Eligibility for advantages: Investments registered with ANDI that do not appear on the lists of activities excluded from the advantages (negative lists) benefit automatically from the advantages provided by Law 16-09 except:
  1. ​(a) Investments amounting equal to or greater than 5 billion dinars (approximately 45,000,000 €) and subject to the prior approval of the CNI;
  2. (b) Investments with particular interest to the national economy, subject to the derogation provisions of the investment agreement;
  3. (c) Activities that are subject to their own benefit regime (as in the case of hydrocarbons).
  • ​Three levels of advantages: Law 16-09 distinguishes between:
  1. ​(a) "common advantages" to all eligible investments;
  2. (b) "additional advantages" for privileged and / or job-creating activities;
  3. (c) "exceptional advantages" for projects of particular interest to the national economy.
  • ​​Nature of Advantages: Law 16-09 provides advantages of varying nature and duration depending on the qualification of the investment and the stage of the project’s completion (phases of realization and operation).

Transitional provisions​

Although Law 16-09 comes into force immediately, the rights and benefits acquired by investors remain governed by the laws under which they were de   clared and the statutory instruments of Ordinance No. 01-03 remain in force until the promulgation of the texts implementing Law 16-09.

 

Contact

National Agency of Investment Development ANDI

Route National N°5 cinq Maisons Mohammadia Alger

Phone: 021.52.20.14 / 021.52.20.15

Fax: 021.52.20.17

E-mail: direction@andi.dz

Web Site: www.andi.dz

Connexion
image image image

Votre Partenaire dans le Monde des Affaires

Votre Partenaire dans le Monde des Affaires

Votre Partenaire dans le Monde des Affaires

Investissement direct étranger (IDE)

Mesures portant sur les IDE conformément aux dispositions du nouveau code du 03 août 2016 relative à la promotion de l'investissement

Ayant été adopté par les deux chambres parlementaires de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire, le nouveau Code de l’Investissement a été validé à l’unanimité et met à jour les dispositifs de l’Ordonnance d’Août 2001 codifiant la réglementation qui régit les investissements en Algérie. 

Abrogation de l’Ordonnance N° 01-03

Le dispositif juridique applicable aux investissements se compose, dès à présent, de la Loi 16-09 abrogeant les dispositifs de l’Ordonnance N° 01-03 relative au développement des investissements et de la Loi des Finances pour 2016 "LF 2016".

En revanche, certains dispositifs du Code régissant les investissements sont régis par la Loi des Finances 2016. On retrouve trois dispositifs phares, notamment : 

Article 66 de la LF 2016 : Extirpé du Code de l’Investissement, cet article régit la règle du "49/51" et l’obligation de mise en conformité pesant sur les sociétés détenues majoritairement par des investisseurs étrangers ;

Article 55 de la LF 2016: Cet article régit l’obligation de recourir au financement local des investissements ;

Article 62 de la LF 2016: Cet article régit désormais la privatisation par ouverture du capital social des entreprises publiques économiques.

Il est à noter que certaines dispositions de l’Ordonnance n° 01-03 ont été purement et simplement abrogées, sans être reprises dans la Loi 16-09 ou dans la LF 2016, telles que :

  • L’obligation pour les investissements étrangers de générer une balance en devises excédentaire au profit de l’Algérie pendant toute la durée du projet ; et
  • L’obligation d’information annuelle portant sur l’actionnariat des personnes morales étrangères détenant des actions dans des sociétés algériennes.

Principales mesures relatives aux investissements étrangers

La Loi 16-09 vient préciser et/ou modifier certains dispositifs prévus par l’ancienne législation, à savoir :

  • La modification de la garantie de transfert du capital investi et des revenus en découlant : son bénéfice est désormais subordonné à un apport en capital en numéraire égal ou supérieur à des seuils minima définis en fonction du coût global du projet, dont les modalités seront fixées par voie réglementaire. Le réinvestissement en capital des bénéfices et dividendes transférables est admis comme apports extérieurs ouvrant droit au bénéfice de la garantie de transfert et les apports en nature sont éligibles à la garantie de transfert sous certaines conditions ;
  • Le maintien du droit de préemption de l’Etat : l’article 30 de la Loi 16-09 rappelle le principe selon lequel toutes les cessions d’actions (ou de parts sociales) réalisées par ou au profit d’investisseurs étrangers sont soumises au droit de préemption de l’Etat. La Loi 16-09 renvoie à des textes réglementaires pour les modalités d’application.  L’ancien article 4 quinquies de l’Ordonnance n° 01-03 qui fixait a minima les modalités d’application de ce droit étant abrogé, le droit de préemption de l’Etat semble difficilement applicable en l’état sauf à continuer à se référer à la pratique antérieure ;
  • Les précisions sur le droit de rachat de l’Etat : toute cession à hauteur de 10 % ou plus des actions d’entreprise étrangère détenant une participation dans une société algérienne ayant bénéficié d’avantages ou de facilités lors de son implantation, donne lieu à une information du Conseil des Participations de l’Etat ("CPE"). Le non-respect de cette formalité ou l’objection motivée du CPE, dans un délai d’un mois à compter de la réception de l’information, confère à l’Etat un droit de rachat portant au maximum sur la participation détenue par l’entreprise étrangère cédée dans la société algérienne. En l’absence de précisions quant à ses modalités d’application, le droit de rachat de l’Etat ne devrait pas pouvoir être appliqué en l’état sauf à se référer à la pratique antérieure ;
  • La compétence des juridictions algériennes en cas de différends entre investisseurs étrangers et l’Etat algérien, sauf si des conventions bilatérales, multilatérales ou accord prévoyant une clause compromissoire existent (l’Ordonnance n° 01-03 visait les "juridictions compétentes").

Refonte des dispositifs incitatifs de l’investissement​

Après avoir légèrement modifié la définition de l’investissement, la Loi 16-09 prévoit un enregistrement unique et préalable auprès de l’ANDI des investissements pour bénéficier des avantages prévus par cette loi.

  • Eligibilité aux avantages : les investissements enregistrés auprès de l’ANDI, et ne figurant pas sur les listes des activités exclues du bénéfice des avantages ("listes négatives") bénéficient de plein droit et de manière automatique des avantages prévus par la Loi 16-09 à l’exception : 
  1. (a) des investissements dont le montant est égal ou supérieur à cinq milliards de dinars (environ 45.000.000 €) et soumis à l’accord préalable du CNI ; 
  2. (b) des investissements présentant un intérêt particulier pour l’économie nationale, soumis au régime dérogatoire de la convention d’investissement et ; 
  3. (c) des activités qui obéissent à leur propre régime d’avantages (comme dans le domaine des hydrocarbures).
  • Trois niveaux d’avantages : la Loi 16-09 distingue : 
  1. (a) les « avantages communs » à l’ensemble des investissements éligibles ; 
  2. (b) les « avantages supplémentaires » au profit des activités privilégiées et/ ou créatrices d’emplois et ; 
  3. (c) les « avantages exceptionnels » réservés aux projets présentant un intérêt particulier pour l’économie nationale.
  • Nature des avantages : la Loi 16-09 octroie des avantages dont la nature et la durée varient selon la qualification de l’investissement et le stade d’avancement du projet (phases de réalisation et d’exploitation).

Dispositions transitoires​

Même si la Loi 16-09 entre en vigueur immédiatement, les droits et les avantages acquis par les investisseurs demeurent régis par les lois sous l’empire desquelles ils ont été déclarés et les textes réglementaires de l’Ordonnance n° 01-03 restent en vigueur jusqu’à la promulgation des textes d’application de la Loi 16-09.

Contact

National Agency of Investment Development ANDI

Route National N°5 cinq Maisons Mohammadia Alger

Phone: 021.52.20.14 / 021.52.20.15

Fax: 021.52.20.17

E-mail: direction@andi.dz

Web Site: www.andi.dz